Things that help me sleep!

BedtimeI have a very… strange and unusual sleeping routine. My body has a strange alarm clock that makes it almost impossible to go to sleep. When I do eventually fall asleep, I’ll wake up maybe an hour or two later, remain awake for that hour and then go back to sleep. Weird right? I think it’s something to do with when my  cat was a kitten she’d scratch the door when she needed to go the toilet, which would always be at night. Sleeping pills of course are always an option, but if you’re like me and can’t swallow pills despite legally being an adult here are some other things you can do to help you sleep.

1. Remake your bed. Yes it sounds strange, seeing as a lot of people see it as a chore, I am one of those weird people who actually enjoys making their bed. It calms me. If you’ve been rolling around sweating in bed, it’s probably a good idea to just get up, take everything off and remake it before you climb back in. I know it sounds strange, and the last thing you’ll be wanting to do when you’re tired and can’t sleep, but it really does help. Try it next time you’re struggling to sleep and you’ll see what I mean.

2. Refresh yourself. Whether it’s winter or summer, sometimes you just need to be refreshed. I wouldn’t recommend a shower as that would just wake you up more. Try a nice bubble bath with bath salts or something soothing. But don’t do this if you’re extremely tired because I don’t want you falling asleep in the bath and drowning (I’m a college student and can’t afford a lawyer, so please don’t sue me). If you’re not a bath person try washing your face or brushing your teeth. You’ll feel clean and refreshed and ready to sleep again. Also a squirt of deodorant doesn’t hurt.

3. Johnson’s Baby Bedtime. If you haven’t tried this stuff you are missing out. Yes it may be for ‘babies’ but it is a god send. I’m not sure quite how it works, but if I’m struggling to sleep I’ll rub this stuff over my shoulders, arms, neck and chest and within 10 minutes I’m feeling sleepy. I’m not sure if it’s the lovely smell or if it relaxes your muscles but trust me it is like a sleeping pill in a bottle. I would highly recommend this to anyone of any age.

4. Stay away from electronics. Electronics wake your brain up so you want to stay away from them. Something I learned is that you fall asleep quicker if you turn your electronics off an hour before bed. So don’t sit in bed scrolling on your phone or listening to music if you can’t sleep. Grab a book and read. Or draw. Or maybe plat your hair. Just don’t turn on anything with a screen, or you’ll be awake for a lot longer.

5. Drink something hot and soothing, but stay away from the caffeine. My personal sleeping poison is hot chocolate, or as some American’s call it ‘hot coco? cocoa?’ not sure which one but you know what I mean. The hot chocolate flavoured drink with no caffeine. Warm milk is also very soothing, and decaf coffee can also be soothing. I don’t actually drink tea (I know, I am a shame to my British heritage) but I suppose a decaf or herbal tea would be very relaxing. I’ve heard jasmine tea helps you sleep, but I’m not sure if that’s correct, so don’t hold me too it.

Thanks for reading, and I really hope this helped!

Don’t forget to like, comment, share and follow :)

Leave a Reply

