Pokepark 2: Wonders Beyond Game Review

81U+M1yrPPL._SL1418_So I don’t normally post game reviews on here, but I’ve decided I want to start doing them, mostly because I love games (mostly Zelda, Pokemon and Kingdom Hearts ) and since this is my blog and I can post what I want I thought that I would start reviewing games. Rather than reviewing random games I’ve played I thought I’d do the same method I do with books, which is where I only review the game I have just finished, rather than ones I played years ago. This is so I can give a honest review whilst the game is still fresh in my mind. Also I just want to add this is my first game review ever and I’m no expert on games or giving reviews and this review is purely just me talking about the game and what I thought of it so if you’re expecting expert gaming terms then maybe you’re not in the right place.

Anyway so recently I completed Pokepark 2: Wonders Beyond. I got this for Christmas last year but only really got around to playing it this month, this is mostly because I was extremely busy with college work and didn’t have time to relax and play games. Anyway I really enjoyed the first Pokepark game because I just found it really peaceful antd enjoyable, so I asked for the second one for Christmas.

Basically this is one of the few pokemon games (that I’m aware of) where their are no pokemon trainers or humans. You play as Pikachu in the beginning and you unlock other characters as you go along, such as Tepig, Snivy, and Oshawott. It’s set in Pokepark which is basically a large island for pokemon to live on, set up into 4 areas, The Cove Area (Consisting of Seasong Beach and Cove Town) The Arbor Area (Consisting of Windmill Way and Verdant Court), The Crag Area (Consisting of Rockridge Fort and The Colosseum) and finally the Tech Area (Consisting of the Train Deport, Unawarehouse and the Scientorium). There is also the Arcane Area which can’t be unlocked until after the games completion.

The plot of the game is that Pokemon have been going to another park called ‘Wish Park’ full of fun and games via a portal. However after visiting this mysterious park with Pikachu’s best friend Piplup, they find many Pokemon are unable to leave the park, as they’re stuck in a trance that makes them want to stay their and have fun forever. Piplup is one of the parks unfortunate victims and after Pikachu is kicked out of wish park it become his mission to find out how to return everyone back to Pokepark and save his friend.

Now there’s 194 Pokemon on this game, many of which you can’t befriend until after the game itself is finished (after completing the game and unlocking the credits scene you can carry on playing an additional part of the game). I’m one of those really annoying people who when they play a game has to complete it 100% (flashback to trying to unlock the Largest Quiver in the Swamp Shooting Gallery in Majora’s Mask) , which to me meant befriending every single Pokemon and upgrading all my Pokemon’s attacks, which meant this game took a lot longer than it probably should’ve to complete but oh well I guess.

It’s not a difficult game at all, it can be a bit frustrating at times, due to the fact Pikachu is so damn slow (until you upgrade him) and sometimes you have to run really long distances to do something really small and then run all the way back. But it’s also a really calm gentle relaxing game. Of course theirs still fighting in it but they’re pretty easy fights. Theirs lots of puzzle solving and collecting which I actually really enjoy in games so it was a big plus for me, but if you’re not into that maybe don’t play this game.

But yeah overall I really enjoyed this game, I think even more than the first one. It’s just a relaxing calm game to play, and even though it’s obviously target towards kids I really enjoyed it and I’d give it a 9/10 (-1 for Slow Pikachu).

If you liked this review please leave a like and a comment and if you’d like to see more please don’t forget to follow me :)

 

One thought on “Pokepark 2: Wonders Beyond Game Review

Leave a Reply

