Boots Makeup Haul!

6

So I went shopping the other week, as you do and spent more than a little bit of money on makeup. I justified this spending by the fact makeup is really expensive and the fact I have literally sharpened my eyeliner pencil down to a stub shows that I needed and furthermore wanted to buy new makeup. I had a problem with this post where after I’d taken pictures of all the products and edited them they somehow got deleted from both my blog folders and my recycle bin and then I had to download a program to help me recover them. I managed to recover most of them but not all of them which was annoying for me cause I had to re edit and retake some of the pictures. Anyway enough bubbling, enjoy the post.So anywhere here’s what I brought!

7So since the last primer I was using wasn’t really that good. It was the rimmel lasting finish primer. I just found it was too silky on my skin and that my makeup really didn’t last that long. This was one of the recommended drugstore primers I read about on a blog post. I can’t remember who it was exactly but I find the post I’ll link it somewhere in this post, although it was a long time ago so I’ll probably struggle trying to find it. Anyway I picked up the Rimmel Stay Matte Primer. It comes in a 30ml primer in a white bottle with a purple lid on it and a purple crown on the front. I find the primer feels more like a cream than a primer. It’s quite a thin cream but feels really nice on the skin. It’s supposed to last for up to 8 hours which I don’t know is true I not, I guess we’ll see. But apart from that it’s a really good product and at £5.99 was really nicely priced.

4I also picked up a new foundation, because the one I was using before was way too pink toned for my liking. This is the Rimmel Lasting Finish Foundation in Nude and it’s my go to foundation at the moment. It matches my skin tone so well and whilst the mixture is quite thick it’s very easy to apply and doesn’t make me look cakey at all. It also lasts a really long time. This foundation has an SPF of 20 which is always good because you want to keep your skin protected at all times. This was only £7.99 too which isn’t too expensive considering how good the quality of the product is.

6The next product I got was a sleek oh so special eye shadow palette. It comes with 5 shimmery eye shadows and 7 matte eye shadows. It comes in a sleek slim black case and comes with a small black brush, which I’m probably not going to use due to the fact I hate those types of brushes. The palette mostly consists of pinks and browns. The colours are named Bow, Organsa, Ribbon, Gift Basket, Glitz, Celebrate, Pamper, Gateau, The Mail, Boxed, Wrapped Up and Noir. I’ve mostly been wearing this combined with the Sleek Storm palette. Although I like Sleek’s colours I find that the staying power is not very long at all. I’m not sure if it’s because my primer isn’t very good of it’s the eye shadow itself but it just doesn’t last very long at all.

2The next thing I got was a mascara. This is the Rimmel Scandalous Eyes Extreme Mascara. It comes in a oddly shaped light red pink tube. It has a curve wand and the mixture itself is very dark and a little bit runny. I picked it up because I was in need of a mascara and I saw this one was apparently really good. I haven’t actually tried it on yet but this cost £6.99 and I got it from Boots. Actually I should probably mention I brought all of these products from Boots.

10The next thing I picked up was this Tanya Burr Cosmetics Peachy Glow Cheek Palette. It’s a very large light pink rectangle box with silver line pattern over it and a pink scallop shell pattern around the edge. Now I’ve use only one other Tanya Burr Cosmetic items before and that was the Picnic in the Park necklace of which you can read the review of here. But I picked up this one, 1 because I was attracted by the pretty packaging and two the product itself looked really nice. It comes with a bronzer, a blush and a highlighter. They are named beach bronze, apricot flush and Champagne Shimmer. They’re such pretty colours and I also like how the three dishes each have a pattern imprinted into it, one with lines one with hearts and one with stars. I just thought this was really pretty and cute. This product cost me £8.00.

8The next thing I got was the Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser Primer. Now like I said earlier I needed a new Primer and this was another one recommended to me. I always see people raving about this in posts but have never got around to trying it. I picked this up for £6.99 from Boots and after trying it the next day it has become my go to primer. It’s a gel rather than a cream and it feels so soft on my skin. It makes my skin feel so smooth and soft and it makes me makeup last a long. It’s defiantly a drugstore bronzer I would 100% recommend.

5I picked up another Mascara, just in case the first one wasn’t that good. This is the Barry M Showgirl Mascara. I was attracted to this because of the really pretty packaging. It comes in a silver tube with black stars on the front and the name printed on it in big bold writing. According to the tube it as Extra lengthening black mascara. I find the mascara tube it surprisingly quite heavy and the wand quite long. This cost me £4.99 but I have yet to use it so I’m not sure how good or bad it is going to be. We shall see!

11This is the Sleek Matte Me ultra smooth matte lip cream in the colour petal. I needed a new lip gloss so I picked this up. I know it’s not actually a lip gloss but it’s not quite a lip gloss either, thank god because I suck at applying lipstick. I tried a little bit of this on in the shop and really like it. It’s sort of a pale pink colour. I never knew that lip creams or even matte lip glosses with a thing before so I was really surprised by this. however I’ve been using this of late and I actually really really like it. I wear it on it’s own or if I do want them to look glossey then I’ll wear a clear lip gloss over the top. It’s so pretty and if you’ve really bad at applying lipstick like I am but want some colour on your lips I would defiantly recommend this. This cost me £4.99.

1The next item I got was the Rimmel London Scandaleyes Waterpoof Kohl liner. My last eyeliner was a black pencil eyeliner that I used for around a year and a half and it was sharpened to about the size of 2p. I picked this one up because it was simply one of the first black eyeliners I saw and it looks good when I swabbed it on my hand. I apologize for the blurry picture, this was one of the pictures that accidentally got deleted from my computer and came back blurry when I recovered it. Anyway moving on I am loving this eyeliner. I wear this on my waterline and it lasts for ages. Literally I put this on when I’m doing my makeup in the morning, usually around 7:00 (yay for 9am classes) and it lasts it’ll last until I finish my classes at 5 or 6pm. It’s that good. It also doesn’t smudge, obviously because it’s waterproof. But honestly I love this and it’s defiantly one of the best, if not the best eyeliner I’ve ever worn. This cost me £3.99 so it was really really good for the price.

12Now this is yet another mascara. This is the Benefit Roller Lash Mascara. Now I feel like for years now I’ve been seeing people talk about how good this mascara is and how much they love it but I could never push myself to spend £19-30 pounds this usually costs. I saw this in Boots the other day at the counter for £19.50 and I just said ‘screw it’ and picked it up. I’m so happy I did because I am in love with it. I’ve been using it every time I wear makeup now (which is why I haven’t tried out the Barry M or Rimmel Mascara’s) and it’s just so good. Not only is it dark but it makes you lashes so long and curly and it lasts all day. I wear this along with the Scandaleyes Mascara and they just work perfectly together and both last all day. It’s a bit of a stretch to pay especially if you’re unemployed and a student like me but the price is defiantly worth it.

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed and if you want more feel free to follow!:)

 

Leave a Reply

