The Perfectionists by Sara Shepard Book Review

perfectionists[obviously spoilers below for the book in questions]

I recently read The Perfectionists by Sara Shepard, which is the first book in the series. Before this I’d never read anything by Sara Shepard before, although I am a huge fan of the Pretty Little Liars TV series which is based on book series of the same name that she happens to be the author of.

I read this book over a few days and I found it to be very addicting and I honestly couldn’t put it down. It reminded me a lot of Pretty Little Liars, but they were also quite different. Basically the book centers around 5 girls, Julie, Ava Caitlin, Mackenzie and Parker. They’re all from different clicks/groups, (apart from Parker and Julie who are best friends) but all have one thing in common: they all hate their local high school rich kid brat Nolan Hotchkiss. They all get together to pull a prank on Nolan, but slipping him a drug, waiting for him to pass out, writing on his face and then taking a picture. Things go as plan until it’s reported Nolan had died that very same night.

I will say this book is very drama filled, and a lot of the time it’s just a lot of bad stuff happening to the characters. I found every character in this very interesting and unlike most books that chance point of view I actually found every character really compelling and captivating. I think most of all I liked Parker, Ava and Julie because their stories were really engaging and honestly kept me on the edge of my seat. Not that Mackenzie and Caitlin weren’t as they had great stories too but just Julie, Ava and Parker were just a little more interesting.

I will say the one bad thing about this book is that it ends with all the characters having pretty bad endings, as pretty much all their worlds are turned upside down. It also ends on a huge cliffhanger. I’m definitely going to be reading the other books in the series at some point, because I have to know what happens next.

If you enjoy teen/drama/mystery novels definitely pick up this novel because it is so good and so addicting and you will undoubtedly love it.

Leave a Reply

