Basic guide to Skin Care + My current skin care routine

3e2aa83dc58cec6a7779c5ce45417973So I am no way at all an expert in skin care, but I happen to have quite clear skin. I get spots like everyone, but they’re usually small and don’t last very long. I used to get a lot of spots, but since taking care of my skin more it’s totally cleared up. I’ve had friends asks how my skin is so clear and I’ve both listed out my entire skincare routine and I’ve also just shrugged and said ‘I just drink a lot of water’ (which is true). So here we go, a lovely little post on my skincare routine and my tips of skin care. (That might’ve been the worst intro I’ve ever written, I’m such a great blogger)

DSCF4184So I have two separate skincare routines, one for the morning and one for the evening. They generally stay the same with my evening routine only usually changing depending on whether I wore makeup that day or not. I generally buy most of my skincare products from the body shop because I like how helpful they are in there. They always help me get the right products for my skin type (oily) and their products are just great in general.

So the most important steps you should have in your skincare routine are cleansing, toning and moisturizing.

1) Cleanser  – So if you’ve been wearing makeup that day you want to start of with a cleanser. Now up until about a year ago I always used makeup wipes to take off my makeup but then I learned how terrible they are for your skin. Basically when you use a makeup wipe, no matter how much makeup comes off on the wipe you’re actually pushing the dirt around your face. You can have the most expensive/amazing moisturizer and serum ever but you’ll just be applying it on top of the dirt that’s already on your face. So I’ve used two cleansers, first off was the vitamin E cream cleanser which didn’t really work for me at all and then I tried the Camomile Silky Cleaning Oil. I use this oil everyday to take off my makeup and it’s honestly amazing. At first I was a little meh at putting oil on my makeup and smudging it around my face but now I’ve gotten so used to it and the oil is actually really relaxing and moisturizing. It works so quickly and efficiently and really gets every little bit of makeup up. Of course there’s hundreds of cleansers out there and it all depends on your skin type whether something will work for you or not, so I’d recommend going into the body shop or any skincare shop and asking an expert or if the thought of that makes you way too anxious you can take an online test instead.

2) Toner – After cleaning you should always use a toner. Now I didn’t know what a toner was for a really long time, simply because I didn’t know I needed one. So I cleansed and went straight to moisturizing. Only in the last 6 or so months have I been using a toner. The toner I use is the body shop seaweed clarifying toner which just works wonders for me, so much so it’s the only one I’ve ever used and so far I’ve never felt compelled to change. I apply my toner with a cotton pad, after cleansing but before washing my face and it’s helps remove all traces of makeup that may still be left, all traces of the cleanser that may still be on my face, plus a whole other load of dirt I didn’t even know was on my face. Toners help shrink the appearance of pores, remove dead skin sells and in general freshen up your face. It seems like a small insignificant step but it really does help your skin and honestly makes it feel so relaxed and fresh-faced after applying.

3) Face Wash – Generally the most simple step, the one I’ve been doing pretty much all my life. Just washing your face. I must’ve tried hundreds of face washes. Sometimes they’ve worked for me for a long time and then betrayed me and made me break out after several uses and other times they’ve just downright not worked at all. Over the years the best products I’ve used include The Simple Kind To Skin Moisturizing Facial Wash and the Clean & Clear Exfoliating Daily Wash, which were both really simple but great products that helped out my skin. Due to the fact I have oily skin I tend to avoid oil based face washes. The one I’m currently using which I love not just for how amazing it is but for the amazing smell is the Neutrogena Oil-Free Visibly Clear Pink Grape Fruit Facial Cleanser. I use this just by smothering it on my face, where it foams ups and then washing it off with water. Every time it just leaves my skin feeling soft and re hydrated and clean. It works wonders on acne and spots and ever since I’ve hardly been getting any sort of skin problems. Again always try to find out your skin type, as someone with oily skin oil-free face washes work best for me but find what works best for you and use that.

4) Serum – Next up an important product I use both in my morning skincare routine and my evening skincare routine are serums. Now in the morning I use the Superdrug Clearly Youthful Booster Serum which is a very relaxing, soft, hydrating serum and at night I use The Body Shop Seaweed Clarifying Night Treatment. The night treatments formula is very different to the booster serum but works just as well, and again is very relaxing and hydrating. Serums are probably the best product you can use to combat anti-aging. They’re not as creamy at moisturizers, but their job isn’t to hydrate your skin but rather pack in a bunch of beneficial ingredients that you might be missing out on. They also dig a lot deeper than moisturizers to deliver active ingredients to your skin. It’s a small but important part of my skin care routine and I really do notice a difference in my skin when I use my serums vs when I don’t.

5) Eye Cream – Applying an eye cream is another important step in my everyday routine. I use The Body Shop Vitamin E Eyes Cube. It works a lot differently than normal ice cream in that it’s literally a solid stick of cream that you rub on your face. I admit at first I was a little bit perplexed by the concept but any doubt was quickly thrown out the window when I actually used the product because it is amazing. It is so soft and cooling and makes me skin feels so refreshed and dehydrated. The area around our eyes is thinner and much more delicate in structure than other parts of our face, hence why eyes are usually the first area to welcome wrinkles. I didn’t find this out until a few months ago, but since using an eye cream (or rather eye cube) I have noticed a huge difference in the area around my eyes and also the fact I rarely get dark circles under my eyes anymore. So I guess have to thank this little cube of heaven for helping me not only get rid of my dark circles but for saving me money on concealer.

6) Moisturizer – One of the last steps and actually one of the most important steps if moisturizing. When your skin is dry it creates oil to make up for the lake of moisture which in return gets into your pores and gives you spots and bad skin. When wash our skin we are stripping it of moisture, so we need to restore that moisture by applying a moisturizer. Now I use two different moisturizer, one is just a general P.S. love your sin moisturizer which I use if I’m traveling and if I ever need to freshen my skin up throughout the day. For the morning and evening I use The body Shop Vitamin E Moisture Cream, which is honestly a little tub of heaven. It’s so cool and moisturizing and a little goes a long way. I would highly recommend.

7) Lip Care – The last step is kind of an extra step – lip care. I use one of the lush lip scrubs on my lips every morning before I start doing my makeup. I have two lip scrubs from lush, the bubble gum one and Santa’s lip scrub. I prefer the bubble gum one, because Santa’s lip scrub is quite a thick consistency where as the bubblegum one is a lot looser and easier to use. So just a little application of these each morning leaves my lips feeling soft and relaxed. Alongside my lip scrub I apply a lip balm every day and every night, my favourite to apply is the Coconut Lip butter which is just the creamiest softest lip butter ever. I apply this right after I’ve licked off the lip scrub but before I do my makeup.

DSCF4187

So in general my skincare routine consists of:

Morning:

  1. Neutrogena Oil-Free Visibly Clear Pink Grape Fruit Facial Cleanser
  2. Superdrug Clearly Youthful Booster Serum
  3. The body Shop Vitamin E Moisture Cream
  4. The Body Shop Vitamin E Eyes Cube
  5. Bubble Gum Lip Scrub
  6. Coconut Lip Butter

Evening:

  1. Camomile Silky Cleaning Oil
  2. The Body Shop Seaweed Clarifying Toner
  3. Neutrogena Oil-Free Visibly Clear Pink Grape Fruit Facial Cleanser
  4. The Body Shop Seaweed Clarifying Night Treatment
  5. The Body Shop Vitamin E Moisture Cream
  6. The Body Shop Vitamin E Eyes Cube
  7. Bubble Gum Lip Scrub

Of course you don’t have to do all these steps, but I would highly recommend at least cleansing, toning and moisturizing especially if you wear makeup. As always these are just products that work for me that I use daily and you should always find out what kind of skin you have at what works for you before buying anything anyone else recommends.

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a lovely day :)

Leave a Reply

