Monthly Favourites (December – February) 2016

1

So just a little general monthly favourites post here. These are things I’ve been loving throughout December, January and February and just for a while in general. I’m trying out in a new general post style, I’m trying to include more pictures and write more detail into what I post. I’m trying to take better photos for my blog and I know I’m not the best at all but I’m hey practice makes perfect right? Anyway on with the favourites.

3

Body Products

Body Shop Frosted Plum Lip Balm – So for the first beauty product on my list is the Body Shop Frosted Plum Lip Balm. I got this in a gift set from a relative for Christmas. I’ve recently been using it everyday and it’s really made my lips very soft and moisturized. It also tastes amazing and the small tin makes it convenient to carry around with me.

Raspberry & Rose Creme Tarte Shower Creme – I absolutely love this softening shower creme by Cafe de Bain. It smells so amazing and is a product that actually smells good enough to eat. It comes in a really large bottle and you get a lot of uses out of it and it makes you skin feel and smell so good during and after use, so I’d definitely recommend it.

Coconut Oil – So another beauty product I’ve been loving lately is Coconut Oil. This is just a small tub from Superdrug’s own brand. I’ve been using this on my arms, legs and armpits after I shower and shave my arms and it feels amazing. It’s so silky and soothing and because it’s an oil it feels a lot lighter than a moisturizer. If you know me you’ll also know I love anything coconut so of course I love the smell. Apparently you can also use this on hair although I have yet to try it yet, I probably will soon though.

Lee Staford hair mask – So something I recently invested in (and by recently I mean like end of November) is the Lee Staford hair growth treatment, for hair that never grows past a certain length. I’ve been wanting to grow my hair for a while so I’ve been using this and I have seen such a change in my hair. I use this once a week and it makes my hair feel so amazing, literally like I’ve just been to a salon. I’ve not a drastic change in my hair length, it has grown a little but not much, but honestly at this point I’m using this for the amazing feeling it gives my hair. I’ve almost gone through a full tub and I’m definitely going to re purchase this again soon.

5

Entertainment

Life with a sprinkle of glitter – So first on my list for ‘entertainment’ is life with a sprinkle of glitter by Louise Pentland. I adore Louise and she is one of my all time favourite YouTubers. Unlike a lot of people I’m quite picky when it comes to Youtuber books and only really get the ones that interest me (so far I have this, All I know now, Dream house, The Amazing Book is not on fire and Girl Online). Anyway I’ve had this book for a while now and every now and then I go and read different chapters and I’ve found it’s just a fun little girly book. It’s got lots of tips about general life and stuff but it’s the advice about beauty and decorating I like the most. Plus the book has got beautiful pages and it’s just a pretty interesting book in general.

The Good Girls –  The second thing on my entertainment list is The Good Girls by Sara Shepard. I’m not sure when this post is going up but I read this at the beginning of March and really enjoyed it. It’s the second and last book in the perfectionists series. Although I didn’t like the ending I really enjoyed reading it and it was so gripping and a real amazing page turner. I’ve finished it now and I have a review coming up sometime soon-ish. So stick around if you want to read the full post of that.

The Death Order – This is something I read at the end of January. I really really enjoyed it and I thought it ended the maze runner series beautifully. I loved it, and unlike a lot of trilogies it didn’t let me down with a terrible ending (looking at you Divergent and Hunger Games) and I really liked it all the way through. I’ve got a full review of this going up at some point so you all can look forward to that.

Crimson Peak – Another thing I’ve been loving is the movie Crimson Peak, directed by Guillermo del Toro, starring Tom Hiddleston, Mia Wasikowska and Jessica Chastain. I’m not a fan of horror movies at all and purely watched this because I adore Tom Hiddleston and because a friend recommend it. It was really really good and I really enjoyed it. It’s more of a Gothic horror than a scary movie, and I rarely enjoy horror movies but this one wasn’t full of graphic torture scenes or pointless jump scares and it was actually really entertaining. Jessica Chastain’s acting was amazing. I hated her character but considering she seems sweet at pie in real life and she was a crazy lady in the movie I think she did a great job. Of course Tom Hiddleston and Mia Wasikowska did amazing too but I practically love every movie he’s in. I mean he is Loki.

Anna Karenina – Another movie I’ve really been enjoying is Anna Karenina. It stars Keira Knightley who is one of my all time favourite actors. It’s also directed by Joe Wright who is one of my all favourite directors. Anyway this is a really great movie, if you like period movies you’ll love this. I watched it for the first time last year but I got it on DVD recently and I’ve just adored watching it. The costumes, set, directing, acting, soundtrack and everything about it is really beautiful, enchanting and inspiring. I use it a lot to take inspiration for when I’m writing.

Teen Wolf – So next on my favourite entertainment list was MTV’s Teen Wolf. I’ve been watching this show since Season 3 started (I marathoned season 1 and 2 in like 3 days). I stopped watching it after season 5 started because I got really behind and distracted with work however I recently started watching it again and I am addicted. I caught up in a few days and now I’ve had to go back waiting for a new episode every week like some medieval peasant. It’s one of those shows where I love the whole cast and characters. I especially love the relationship between Stiles and Lydia and I’m really hoping they get together at some point because I adore them. Anyway it’s a really good show, go watch it.

2

Makeup

Barry M Lipsticks – So I’ve been really into lipsticks lately, particularly Barry M lipsticks. I find it really hard to find a lipstick that actually sticks to my lips because normal lipsticks just don’t stick. I began using Barry M lipsticks lately and I adore them. I’ve currently got two, one named Coral in nice, you guessed it, coral colour and another which is called Genie. It’s a light green liptick that when applied to the lips/skin comes out a dark pink. Both are really pretty and both look really nice on.

Naked 3 Palette – Next on my list is the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette. I recently brought this as a birthday gift for myself, as I usually don’t spend this much money on makeup. Anyway I’ve really been loving this palette, it’s full of pink, gold and neutral shades. I tend to do a rose gold sort of smokey eye look and this palette gives me great long lasting pigmented colours that help me do that. It comes in a really pretty rose gold tin with a sample of primer potion (Which is also amazing by the way) and is just in general an amazing product.

24 hour colour tattoos – Next up is the Maybeline 24 hour colour tattoos. They’re cream eyeshadows and I have one in a light shimmery pink shade called Pink Gold and another in shimmery bronze colour called On and On Bronze. Both look really pretty on the eyelids and can either be a great base or just worn alone. I can’t say they last 24 hours as I don’t think I’ve ever worn makeup that long but it does have a really long staying power.

Revolution Blush Palette – Another product I have really been liking is the Golden Sugar Blush Palette by revolution. It comes with 2 highlighters, 4 blushes and 2 bronzers. I’ve mostly been using the highlighters and I love them both. I think this palette was around £6.00’s and I’ve gotten a lot of use out of it as I’ve been applying the highlighter from this set I think almost everyday.

Max Factor Lipstick – Another lipstick I’ve been enjoying is a Max Factor lipstick in the shade Angel, which is a nice light pink shade. It’s slightly lighter than the Barry M Coral one and so I’ve been switching between the two shades depending on which one I feel like that day. It comes in such a pretty gold tube too which I adore.

Collection Blush – Last up for beauty is the Collection Gorgeous Glow Blush Block. It’s a beautiful (would you imagine it) block 5 different shimmery blushes that all blend together to create this lovely dewy pink colour. I’ve never really been into blush that much I’ve found myself in love with this one and I adore putting it on.

4

Other Stuff

Perfumes – I have been particularly enjoying two perfumes this month, the Ghost Sweetheart Perfume and the Wonderstruck perfume by Taylor Swift. I’ve talked about the Ghost Sweetheart Perfume before and I still love the sweet floral scent. Wonderstruck also has a really amazing scent. It’s hard to describe but it’s sort of smells fruity to me and reminds of raspberries and vanilla. I’ve been wearing this a lot lately and whenever I wear it I get tons of people asking what I’m wearing and if they can borrow some. So I’m clearly not the only person who adores this perfume.

Mango Shimmer hand Gel – Next might be a bit strange too some but it’s the Cuticura Mango Shimmer hand Gel. I picked this up because it comes in a 100ml bottle which whilst pretty big for a hand gel is still a perfect hand bag size. I carry this everywhere with me and use many times throughout the day. Like the bottle says it smells it has a very sweet mango sent that spreads over your hands and just smells great. A bit of an odd suggestion to my favourites but hey ho there you go.

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a wonderful day :)

 

Leave a Reply

