The Maze Runner Series Review

maze-runner-books[Spoilers for the first 3 books in the maze runner series]

So I recently finished The Maze Runner series and thought I would post a quick review. There’s 5 books in the series, 3 in the main trilogy (The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials and The Death Cure) and 2 Prequels (The Kill Order and The Fever Code). I’m currently reading The Kill Order but thought I’d post a review of the first official trilogy first. I will say I have enjoyed this trilogy more than I’ve enjoyed any other trilogy for a while. I’ve read both the hunger games and the Divergent trilogies and with both them I found I really enjoyed the first novels and then just found it got boring and repetitive as it went on. Both thg and Divergent had terrible endings that made the whole series feel like a disappointment. The Maze Runner wasn’t like that at all and I actually really enjoyed the ending. There was a few major deaths at the end but I felt they fit well with the plot and weren’t just put in for shock factor.

Book 1 – The Maze Runner

Now I read the first book a few months before the movie came out so sorry if my memory is a little foggy. So what happens is a boy named Thomas basically wakes up in a box in the middle of a giant maze, he has no memory of his life before that moment and is surrounded by groups of boys who have had the exact same thing happen to them. They only know one thing – they have to escape the maze. A lot of drama, adventure and a few deaths happen but overall it was a really great book. It was really gripping and I found myself eagerly awaiting what would happen next. Each chapter ends with a cliffhanger that just made you eager to read on. There’s a movie adaption of this, and I think it was a really good translation. Unlike a few franchises they have had failed movie adaptions this one was really good and apart from a few changes it was surprisingly accurate. Plus Dylan O’Brien is just, a perfect beautiful human being.

Book 2 – The Scorch Trials

The second book in the series is The Scorch Trials. The Scorch Trials was a really gripping just as exciting sequel. Often trilogies suffer from middle book syndrome, which in short just means the middle book of a trilogy is really bad. I didn’t think that was the case with this series, as I found this book to be just as good as the first and last one. Now our characters have escaped the maze they’re faced with faze 2 of the Maze Runner trials, aka the Scorch Trials. Some characters changed a lot, some were barely there and we were introduced to some cool new characters. There was lots of drama and action and it was every bit as gripping as the first one. There’s also a movie adaption of this novel, but to be honest it was kind of bad. They completely changed the plot around and messed it up so badly that I have no idea how they’re going to make the third one, especially with the way the second movie ended vs how the third book begins. Dylan O’Brien was amazing of course, but then again he always is.

Book 3 – The Death Cure

The third book in the maze runner wasn’t actually a major let down. With the terrible endings to Divergent and the hunger games I was expecting this was going to have a terrible ending where pretty much everybody dies, but it actually wasn’t like that at all. It carried on straight from where the last book took off and had our characters escaping Wicked to try to find some hope of a normal life. Like the first two there was a lot of drama, adventure and cliff hangers. It was just as gripping as the first two and like the first two there were a few major deaths. I thought the deaths were pretty justifiable however and helped with character development and the plot. They were dramatic deaths but they weren’t just there for shock factor. I also really enjoyed the ending. I know a lot of people aren’t particularly fans of ‘happy ever afters’ but I feel like after all the drama and death in this series Thomas and his friends deserved their happy ever after.

Definitely check out this series if you’ve never read it, it’s amazing. If you have read it leave a comment below and let me know what you think.

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a wonderful day :)

Leave a Reply

