Super Mario Sunshine Review

Super_mario_sunshine

[Some spoilers below]

So I recently replayed Super Mario Sunshine. I know a lot of people hate this game for some reason but this was a game I played a lot as a child and I always really loved it. I never completed it when I was young, mostly because I remember 80% of the time just running around, shooting water at stuff and not actually knowing what I was doing. Luckily I’m an ‘adult’ now I understand the game a lot more.

I’ve played a lot of Mario games and I’ll probably say this is in maybe the top 5 (my favourite definitely being Super Mario 64). The basis of the game is basically Mario, Peach and the Toads land on Isle Delfino where Shadow Mario has been wrecking havoc by covering the island in goo. They blame Mario who’s then tasked with cleaning up the island. Of course at one point peach get’s kidnapped and of course Bowser is behind the whole thing.

There’s 120 sunshine sprites (or stars as I just tend to refer to them) in the game, but you only need 50 to complete. There’s around 56 stars you can win in levels and the rest are made up of secret stars, 100 coins stars and blue coins stars (10 blue coins = 1 star). I being the perfectionist that I am eventually got all 120 stars and then finished did the boss battle and finished the game.

Some of the levels are easy whereas others make you want to rip your hair out (lily pad level and pinball machine level I’m looking at you). Collecting the blue coins was kind of annoying but not difficult. The boss battle was also really easy and I finished it on the second try, only failing the first time because I fell of the edge. Getting to the boss stage was more difficult to be honest.

I’ve heard a lot of people complain about the controls and camera angles but I really didn’t think they were bad at all, then again I’m not really well educated in all the gaming terms and what makes it good and bad. I am just a simple girl who sometimes plays and reviews games.

Anyway, great game, probably give it a 8/10.

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a wonderful day :)

Leave a Reply

