Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Review

missperegrine_334x518

PSA // Spoilers below for Miss Peregrine’s home for Peculiar Children

So I’ve had this book since November 2015 I believe, along with around 7 other books. Together they were all shoved on my book shelf and mentally added to my never ending ‘to read list’. I was going to take this one to LA with me as my in flight entertainment, but as I found out the movie would be released before that, I had no choice but to read it first so I could escape all the spoilers which I’m sure non book/movie will love to shout about.

I went into this book almost completely blind. I had read the blurb of course and I was aware Tim Burton was making a movie based on this novel but apart from that I knew nothing. I was really intrigued but the appearance of his book, because the cover as well as around 50 pages inside contain creepy looking pictures. What I found even more interesting as that they’re all real pictures from the past, not artists sketches, models or special effects. If you know me you know I love anything creepy or scary and I love ghosts, so that is was attracted to me to this story almost straight away.

I was expecting this to be horror or at least scary. It’s more of a mystery, drama/fantasy novel, which although it wasn’t what I expected I really didn’t mind at all. The story centers around Jacob, a teenage boy who is thrown into a world of mystery and monsters when his grandfather mysteriously dies. Jacob ends up going to try and find out what happened to his grandfather during the war and ends up finding a portal that sends him back in time to when his grandfather left the mysterious children’s home he always talked about. Jacob meets and befriends the peculiar children his grandfather was once friends with and later in the book he learns he may be the only one who can save them.

I really really enjoyed this book. Fantasy/Drama is generally the genre I read most. I usually know a lot about books before I go into reading them, so I think going into this blind really made it more interesting. I did like Jacob and found him to be an entertaining main character, which doesn’t actually happen often. The side characters I found a little confusing, because their was so many of them and I kept getting them mixed up. I didn’t really have a favourite character, I did like Emma but she annoyed at times. I am partial however to Olive and Fiona, because I thought their powers were really cool.

I thought the book was a major page turner in the begging, became really good in the middle but then slowed down at the end. I struggled to get through the last few pages or the ‘battle’ scene if you will, although I often get bored with battle scenes when reading so I’ll assume that’s just me. I have since watched the trailer for the film version, starring Eva Green and Tim Burton, both whom I love. I’ll admit it does look a lot different to the book and the fact they’ve switched Oliver and Emma’s powers is a bit annoying and may mess up the plot a bit. But I’ll still be seeing the movie regardless because hey it’s Tim Burton.

So overall I really enjoyed this book and I’d definitely recommend it if you like fantasy/mystery books. I’m aware this book has two sequels and I have purchased the first already and I intend to read and review it in the coming months. Although I have two other books to read before that so it’ll be awhile.

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

