A blogging predicament

Before you read this you should know this is a little rant/open discussion about wordpress and my little predicament with wordpress and their services. I’m posting this because it’s been bothering me for a while, people in real life haven’t be very helpful in helping me solve my predicament and honestly I think the opinion of another blogger may help out when deciding what to do.

So let’s start of at the start of everything. I think my theme is boring. Don’t get me wrong, I love the theme, it’s cute and elegant. But I’ve had it for over a year now, and I’m just bored of it. Okay so simple solution, get a new theme right? The thing is with wordpress, you can only use their themes under a wordpress domain. And there’s no way to code these themes or add in your own one. I’ve had 3 wordpress themes and I liked those themes. But the only themes I liked. I have scrolled through all of WordPress’s free themes and I just don’t like any of them. Plus they’re not that customizable. You can the header font and background image, but that’s it. On most you can’t even set your own custom colour palette. The title of my blog is in blue writing, despite the fact it doesn’t match anything else on my blog, simply because I can’t change it.

I decided to look on another site, and found a few really cute ones. They were fully customizable, and were specfically designed for each person. These themes also cost £40 each. Now I wasn’t actually that bothered by this price. Sure, cheaper would’ve been nicer, but from the amazing designs and feedback the site was getting I felt it was worth it. Plus this £40 would buy me something that will last forever. That was a price I was willing to pay.

Because you can’t custom code themes on a wordpress domain I decided to purchase an independent URL, which costs around £19 for a year I believe. I was planning to this eventually, and as it was only £19 for a whole year I thought, why not? £59 in total and I’m good with a fancy schmancy blog and independent URL until the end of 2017. And then at the end of the year if I didn’t want to pay to keep my URL the next year, I could just go back to the free URL and keep my theme.

This is where the problems started.

Turns out you can’t use a custom domain, or use a custom theme on a free account. You have to purchase one of the 3 upgraded accounts, the cheapest of which is $2.99 (about £2.25) a month. I hate paying for things monthly, because as I’m a student, I only get a set amount of money at set times throughout the year, which means I can sometimes go up to 3 months with no money in my account. So I can’t really pay for anything monthly. It would cost me £25 a year for the free account, plus it would cost £19 for the custom domain name, meaning I would have to pay £44 per year, plus £40 for the theme would cost £84. Way more to pay for a hobby that I make no money from.

I wouldn’t really use the upgraded accounts, as a lot of stuff available doesn’t interest me. This is honestly not the first time I’ve been annoying with WordPress. The have hundreds of widgets available for free to download, yet you can’t install them with a free account. This, on top of the no coding and little to no theme customization has made me really annoyed with WordPress. Not to mention the fact they changed the theme I use randomly and gave me no option to change it back.

Pipdig, the site I was going to purchase my theme from, offers to migrate blogs over to SiteGround for free when you purchase a self hosting package from them. Their packages cost £2.75 a month, so £33 per year. But you can pay it all at once at the beginning of year, instead of monthly. So £33 vs £44 a year, obviously SiteGround is the better option.

But if I move to SiteGround I loose all my followers who follow me on WordPress. Which since I don’t have email followers turned on is, all of them. Now I’m not one of those people who gains followers really quickly. I believe followers should be earned through content, not from following people who follow back. So if I were to move my blog to SiteGround I’d be essentially starting everything again.

So I can either go for option one and pay £84 for the first year and £44 every year after that, go for option two and pay £73 for the first year and then £33 every year after that (but loose all my followers) or go for option 3 and stay with my shitty free theme and wordpress domain name.

I don’t really know why I’m writing this, I think I’m just frustrated and annoyed and maybe writing out my problems may help me figure out what I’m going to do. I may delete this.

If anyone has any advice or ideas, comment below, because I am really confused what do.

3 thoughts on “A blogging predicament

  1. I went with pipdig and siteground so they would do it for me! They move all of your followers to your new site, so you don’t need to worry about losing them!😊
    Wordpress is a definite pain, I went through the same predicament, I was bored with my theme and I couldn’t do anything with it to make it ‘mine’. I’m really pleased I migrated, I’m a lot happier with my theme now! X
    http://www.agirlrecommends.com

    Like

    • Oh it’s good to know you can keep your followers, I read you couldn’t. I shall take that into consideration. Thanks for sharing, helped a lot :) xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

