Nars Sheer Glow Foundation Review

5

LINKS // Nars Sheer Glow Foundation

Everyone and their pet goldfish and their postman raves about this foundation. It’s The Sheer Glow foundation by Nars. It’s been featured on millions of blogs and youtube videos and almost everyone loves it. Including me.

A few months ago I treated myself to some Nars stuff as a reward for doing well in my first year of uni. I picked up this, a Creamy Concealer and a Velvet Shadow Stick (reviews going up soon). I try and research the hell out of high end products before I purchase them. I don’t have £40 to just throw away on anything, so if I’m buying something high end I’ve got to make sure I really really want it and intend to use it.

Drugstore foundations, at least out of the one’s I have tried, just don’t work very well on my skin. I have combination skin and find some of my skin can be dry some days and oily others. I find foundations go flaky on my skin not long after applying. I’d tried many different ways to prevent this, from changing brushes, trying makeup sponges and beauty blenders, to exfoliating daily, to changing my skincare routine. But nothing worked. So I had to step up my game and try out a high end foundation.

I’ve heard mixed reviews about this foundation online. Some say it’s great for dry skin, other say it clings to dry patches and is only good for oily skin. As someone with both, I decided to give it a shot. This a silicone based natural finish foundation. It’s Dermatological tested, fragrance free and feels very light weight. Unlike a lot of foundations I’ve tried, this feels more like a moisturizer than a foundation. It goes on so smoothly and effortlessly, blending nicely, whether that be with a sponge or a brush, with or without primer. I got this is in the shade Siberia, which, as you can imagine by the name, is the lightest shade, because I’m a white ass Caspar the ghost bitch. I have to say it’s one of the only foundations that’s been anywhere close to my skin tone. 80% of the time with foundations the lightest shade is still way to dark, but I find with this it matches my skin perfectly. It gives good coverage, whilst giving me a nice natural glow, but without giving the appearance of accidental blackface. It’s definitely a foundation you have to build up, and gives I’d say a nice medium amount of coverage, so if you’re someone who doesn’t have terrible skin, but needs a little help giving herself a glowy complexion (and not that of a corpse), I’d recommend this, because it works great hiding that never-goes-outside skin.

The bottle is a small acrylic bottle with the Nars logo up the side and a black lid. It’s Nar, all it’s packaging is standard, plane but modern and stylish. It also came in the standard black cardboard box that all Nars products come in. I usually keep it inside the box, so in the case the bottle accidentally breaks I may be able to save my other makeup from being covered in foundation. My only problem with this damn bottle is that it doesn’t have a pump. The amount of times I’ve accidentally poured to much on my hand is stupid really. This retails at £31.00 for 1  Fl. Oz. 30ml on the Nars website, but on Feel Unique, which is where I got it from I brought it retails for £29.50. So only £1.50 less than every other website, but hey I got a free gift, free delivery and that £1.50 can go towards a dib dab and a bottle of pink lemonade lucozade (my favs).

Overall I really like this foundation. I know people say to avoid this if you’ve got any sort of dry skin, but I really like it. It’s goes on so easily, gives a nice finish and feels really nice on the skin. My only quarrel is the fact the bottle doesn’t have a pump, which means having to pour it out. But really that’s something I can live with, and hey if it bothers me that much I can always buy the £3.00 pump they sell on the website.

But apart from that this product is great, it’s a solid 9/10 for me and it’s just amazing. If you’ve tried this product, let me know what you thought of it below, especially if you’ve got combination skin, as I’d love to know how it worked on you.

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a wonderful day

Leave a Reply

