Nars Velvet Shadow Stick Review

eyeshadow

LINKS // Nars Velvet Shadow Stick | Goddess | £21.00 | 0.05oz

I’ve wanted to try eye shadow sticks for a while now. Mostly because I wanted something small I could take with me in my bag when I go out in case I need touch ups, as carrying around a huge palette is not ideal. I’d heard a lot about these Nars Vvelt Shadow Sticks across various blogs and youtube videos and decided I would try them out. I treated myself to some Nars makeup is a small personal reward for doing well in my first year at Uni. Along with the Sheer Glow Foundation and Creamy Concealer I picked up the Nars Velvet Shadow Stick in the shade Goddess which is a shimmery pink champagne shade.

If you don’t know what eyeshadow sticks are, they are just a cream eye shadow in stick form. This one is a nice size, about the length of a pencil. It’s in a plain black tube with a kind of nude peachy tone on the end. It’s not the shade of the shadow but I guess it’s a sort of similar version. I think these very easy to use. I generally just swipe them across my eyelid and blend them out, sometimes adding another colour into the crease or sometimes just leaving it. I will say if you’re in a rush, this is your best friend, because you just draw it on, blend and your done.

The shadow lasts pretty much the whole day, without a problem. There are two downsides to the product, first of it tends to crease when put over eye shadow primer. I’m not sure why, I’ve tested this theory both with high end primers, like the Urban Decay Primer Potion and drugstore primers and I’ve just found whenever I’ve used a primer with it, it has creased like crazy. I skip primer whenever using this now, because it just works so much better without it. The second downside is that I find it can be a bit chalky if you layer it to much and because of this I tend to only do one quick sweep over a clean base to avoid chalkiness and creasing.

This eye shadow has amazing staying power. I swatched some on my hand, rubbed it with my finger and a wet cloth and it didn’t budge at all. In fact it looked no different. And that’s really the sort of staying power you want if you’re too lazy to touch your makeup up during the day like me. Although it does mean when removing your makeup you can’t just use a makeup wipe, you have to get all in with your cleanser and toner to get this baby off your eyelids.

This retails at £21.00 for 0.05 Oz on the Nars website, although other websites do sell it cheaper. John Lewis and Look Fantastic sell it for £20 and Feel Unique, which is where I got it from, sells it for £16.80, at a 20% discount. I would say that is worth the price. A lot of high end shadow sticks range in the £30-40 range so £20 I think is pretty good, especially for something of this quality. I’m definitely repurchase this, and actually looking at the others colours Nars offers, I really want to try Hollywoodland, Oaxaca and Aigle Noir, which are all shimmery colours. They also have a matte version of the stick, which I really want to try in Dark Angel, which is a beautiful dark chocolate brown.

If you’ve tried this product, let me know. I’d love to know if you liked it or hated it and if it did the annoying creasing over primer thing with you too. Maybe my issue is I’m not using the Nars Primer. I don’t know, if I ever buy it I’ll use them together and post an update. But apart from the annoying creasing and the chalkiness issue this is a solid 7/10 for me.

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a wonderful day :)

2 thoughts on “Nars Velvet Shadow Stick Review

Leave a Reply

